2001 AAPA Convention:

Gary Bossler hosted the 2001 AAPA Convention over the weekend of Friday, August 10, through Sunday, August 12. The gathering was held at the North Canton Holiday Inn at Belden Village, about five minutes south of the Akron-Canton Regional Airport. Linda Donaldson took electronic pictures during the convention. 72 of the photos are available for viewing.

Canton Convention 2001

by Marge Adams Petrone

Like long-parted friends or relatives, twenty-eight members joyfully met and embraced as they welcomed each other during the weekend of August 10-12 at The Holiday Inn at Belden Village in Canton, Ohio. Nine guests also contributed to the happy camaraderie as the organization celebrated its sixty-fifth birthday.

Nine states were represented--with Ohio topping the list at 19. California, Illinois and Oregon each boasted three; Florida, New York, Texas and West Virginia, two apiece; and Kentucky, one.

Congenial, smiling Gary Bossler, the 2001 convention chairman, guided the twenty-one early arrivals on Thursday to the Hong King Inn for the traditional Charlie Bush Chinese dinner. Back at the hospitality room in the hotel with much animated conversation going on, Gary made sure writers worked on the daily computer-generated convention paper, Buckeye Press. The first edition created by Gary was in the May bundle. Numbers 2, 3 and 4 were faithfully turned out each night.

The souvenir convention program created by Guy Miller sported an attractive cover that represented 155 journals of present members who have appeared in the monthly bundles between October 1990 and July 2001.

The schedule inside featured such activities as: informal officer reports of those present, including COMP Coordinator Les Boyer and ALERT Coordinator Bill Venrick; a forum on the subject of censorship in the bundles, conducted by Les Boyer; a panel discussion concerning welcoming and encouraging new members--moderated by Len Carrick with Ken Rystrom and Bill Venrick participating; and a Silk Screen demonstration by Jack Scott with audience participation.

There was a choice of two activities on Friday mornng--with one group choosing to have a tour of Lesh Typesetting Co., and the other visiting the National Firest Ladies Library.

Members who wished congregated for a Fossils Luncheon on Friday and a picnic on Sunday which was scheduled for poolside at the Holiday Inn, but moved inside because of rain.

The ever-popular auction conducted by Sky Shipley with assistance from Johanna made over $600 for the association.

The high point of the weekend is the annual banquet, this year presided over by Guy Miller as master of ceremonies. With good humor and aplomb, Guy interjected his commentary with several readings of poetry by members, a sensitive addition to the evening.

Banquet speaker was Lee Hawes, whose anniversary talk, entitled: "Still Going Strong at 65," traced the beginnings of the American Amateur Press Association, and the ways in which it has changed through the years. Lee himself joined the association in 1942 when it was only five years old--and he was 12!

Laureate awards were announced by L. W. "Jiyani" Lawson, representing (and the only member present) of the Laureate Board. Gator Growl No. 100 was selected Best Overall General Journal. The award for Best Letterpress Printed Journal went to Dave Tribby for The Handset Journal, September 2000. The Best Non-Letterpress Printed Journal award went to John Blalock for Tales of Oregon, August 2000.

Doug Prindle was the recipient of the laureate award for Best Prose Fiction for his story, "Bill and Bimbo at the Bar," published by Len Carrick in his Shasta Ramblings No. 108, November 2000. The Best Prose Non-Fiction selection was awarded to Brian Boyer for "Baseball--Venezuelan Style" in Stargazer, September 2000. Merry Harris won the award for Best Poem for her "Unknown Poet" in Intimate Journey.

The Past Presidents Award for Outstanding New Journal during 2000-2001 went to Glenn and Shirley Simpson of The Cimmaron Ridge Press for their journal, The Precipice.

Winners of the convention's limerick contest, judged by J. Hill Hamon assisted by Fred Liddle, were Sky Shipley, first place; Joe Gardner, second place; and Les Boyer, third place. Honorable mention went to Jack Visser.

Guy Miller presented Gary Bossler with a make-up rule engraved: "Presented in appreciation for being convention chairman."

Before, after and in-between scheduled events, members congregated in the hospitality room, which Host Gary kept stocked with snacks. A lot of talking went on there, with members making new friends and enjoying being with old friends who--even though seen but once a year-- can feel so dear to one's heart. At the farewells, people were already talking about next year's convention!

  ·:·   AAPA 2001 Convention   ·:·   AAPA Conventions   ·:·   AAPA Home   ·:·   Site Map   ·:·   Contact Info   ·:·  
  ·:·   This page last modified Feb 12, 2010   ·:·